Healthy donuts!

Small confession. I love a good donut!

Many years ago I got this adorable little donut cooker that came with healthier recipes for making baked donuts. Fast forward to this past weekend when my husband and I finally gave it a try. Why we waited so long I will never know, but sadly the little donut cooker did not make pretty donuts. Did they taste good though? YES! So, while I didn’t get a photo, I will share the recipe with you. I think you could adapt it to cook in a regular oven using a donut pan.

Spicy Apple Donuts

  • 3/4 cup unbleached flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar (packed)
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 1 Tbsp milk
  • 1 large egg (or comparable amount egg substitute)
  • 1 Tbsp vegetable oil

When I tried them in the oven it was a little hit and miss because I was guessing at the time and temp. I tried 350 for 12 mins and had to go just a bit longer on some of them than on others. Just bake until they are golden brown on top. We enjoyed ours with a bit of powdered sugar on top (I know, not very healthy).

These are a great alternative when you are craving something sweet but somewhat healthy!

Leave a Reply

